As we’ve seen in the video  The Essentials of a Sky Map , there are some basics to understanding Astrology.

To begin with, let’s start with the word constellation.  Constellation is a group of stars forming a certain pattern which are given names. So, the constellation of Libra, for example, is where its most prominent stars – when linked by an imaginary line – form the outline of a scale.

Celestial sphere is an imaginary sphere in the sky where we can tell the apparent position of celestial bodies. In the celestial sphere we have the Sun, the planets, the satellites. It functions as a sort of round map.

There are about 88 constellations in this celestial sphere, but only 12 is really important to Astrologers.

We all know that the Sun is in the center of our Solar System, and that the planets revolve around it. But, in Astrology, many times we will see things through another angle. We are going to imagine that the Sun is going around a circular path inside that spherical sky map. This path is called Ecliptic. It takes the Sun about a year to make one complete round on that path.

The Ecliptic is located in front of 12 constellations called  The Zodiac.

Throughout the year, the Sun takes about a month to travel in front of each constellation. That is when Astrologers say that the Sun is IN a constellation: “The Sun is in Aries.” “The Sun is in Aquarius”, etc.

In western Astrology, that Ecliptic is divided in twelve equal parts. Each part consisting of 30 degrees from the whole circle of the Ecliptic (360/12 = 30). So, each constellation will have 30 degrees of that part of the sky named after them. From 0 degrees to 30 degrees it is the constellation of Aries; from 30 degrees to 60 degrees it is the constellation of Taurus; from 60 degrees to 90 degrees it is the constellation of Gemini, and so on. For the complete list, please check the video linked above or visit our Intagram Page .

There are several constellations in the celestial sphere and, depending where you live on Earth, there are constellations which can be seen all year long! But, the ones which are important to Astrology, the 12 ones on the Ecliptic, they can only be seen in certain months of the year. They are: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces.


Featured Photo by Anastasia Dulgier